Day one of my learning journey…

Image

Today was a significant day. I joined a really exciting team of Leaders of Learning at Hobsonville Point Secondary School. To say that I was felt trepidation would be an understatement. The exciting position we find ourselves in comes along so seldom it almost seems like a dream position – to be able to start a school from scratch and to really embed the values which so many of us hold dear but are often unable to see to their full potential.

For me, the value which is paramount is that learning needs to be student centred. This may sound like common sense but the reality of many schools is that students fit around the structures and traditions of the school. I am a lover of tradition, as a teacher of Classical Studies and ancient History, how can I deny that? However, I do feel that if we, as a profession, are really going to live up to the ideals of the New Zealand Curriculum (NZC) then there needs to be a paradigm shift.

The principles of the Assessment for Learning movement fit so snugly into the NZC and, I hope, into Hobsonville Point Secondary as well.  Image

 

I was so impressed by the warmth of the staff. The highlight for me had to be the inaugural rehearsal of the Hobsonville Point Secondary School Ukulele Orchestra – my nail polish is chipped, I can play three chords but cannot transition (early days for this learning journey!) Our conversations in our new joint (office/workroom) were really exciting.  It is exciting to consider the possible, instead of accepting why ideas won’t or can’t work.  

One thought on “Day one of my learning journey…

  1. Pingback: HPSS: My one year summary | mrsmeganpeterson

Leave a Reply

